AI Good Pick
GPT Image (OpenAI)

GPT Image (OpenAI)

6969/100 · Good▾
GPT Image (OpenAI)Water : 2/5 — image estimate: ~11–21 mL (11.49 Wh × WUE 1.0–1.8 L/kWh, Luccioni SDXL proxy + default WUE) — not an OpenAI measurementElectricity : 2/5 — image estimate: 1.4–11.5 Wh (Luccioni SD 1.5–SDXL lab); upper for recent cloud modelsSecurity : 3/5 — C (ChatGPT Free/Plus)Price : 4/5 — included in plan; GPT Image 2 API $0.053Quality : 5/5 — GPT Image 2.5: AA #1, user score 8.9/10
Quality (35)100/100

GPT Image 2.5: AA #1, user score 8.9/10

Price (25)75/100

included in plan; GPT Image 2 API $0.053

Security (20)50/100

C (ChatGPT Free/Plus)

Electricity (10)25/100

image estimate: 1.4–11.5 Wh (Luccioni SD 1.5–SDXL lab); upper for recent cloud models

Water (10)25/100

image estimate: ~11–21 mL (11.49 Wh × WUE 1.0–1.8 L/kWh, Luccioni SDXL proxy + default WUE) — not an OpenAI measurement

How it's computed : Weighted mean of 1–5 sub-scores scaled to 100: Quality 35, Price 25, Security 20, Electricity 10, Water 10. Missing sub-score = excluded and weights renormalized over available ones ('partial data' badge). Never influenced by affiliation. Methodology

OpenAI image models: GPT Image 2.5 (Sunburst Elo 1217 #1 AA T2I) and GPT Image 2. Via ChatGPT / Images API. API rates on Artificial Analysis and OpenAI platform — verify platform.openai.com.

OpenAI image versions

4 · show ▾
  1. GPT-Image-2.5 Flare

    OpenAI docs — 2026-09-08 snapshot.

  2. GPT-Image-2.5 Sunburst

    OpenAI docs — 2026-09-08 snapshot.

  3. gpt-image-1

    OpenAI API announcement.

  4. GPT-4o image generation

    OpenAI announcement.

Official names only. Dates from undated pages are approximate; GPT Image / Veo 3 / Gen-3 / Gen-4.5 / Suno v6 entries were verified on dated pages or documented snapshots.

Footprint (estimate)

Estimate — low/high range · not a service measurement

  • Electricity: 11.49 Wh / ≈1K image
  • Water: 20.68 mL / ≈1K image
  • CO₂: 4.366 g / ≈1K image

Where servers run: Microsoft Azure (OpenAI) · Azure US regions (consumer residency not disclosed) (region not disclosed, default average used) · hosting source · grid US grid average (380 gCO₂/kWh) · grid source

All electricity, water and CO₂ figures are estimates (never direct service measurements), with a low/high range. Verified sources are listed on /methodologie. Method

Type and availability

ModelOpenAIexclusifAPI

Models offered

GPT Image 2

Available on

Where this tool is ranked

  • #1 · Best for AI image generation✓ Good pick

    GPT Image 2.5 #1 AA T2I (Elo 1217 Sunburst). Quality/edit reference via ChatGPT and API. High API cost (AA ~$210/1k at max).

Service news

Selected announcements related to GPT Image (OpenAI). All news

Dated facts

Dated facts with publisher sources, collected 2026-10-15.

Describe your project

Alternatives